An illustrated story about why I weigh

There was a very lively discussion (that’s how polite people describe the godawful mess of insults and putdowns often a part of newsgroups) recently on a food and cooking group about whether it is easier to measure or to weigh. I come down firmly on the side of weighing.

I don’t really care how anyone else cooks, but I consistently teach weighing while at the same time providing recipes that work both ways. I’ve almost ten years experience by now of doing both at the same time, and I’ve become so convinced that weighing is easier that I have scratched in the weights on the ancient USA cookbooks I hauled over the ocean, at least for those recipes I actually use.

I decided to create a recipe that I could photograph step by step showing how it works.

Hot plum cobbler
Hot Plum Cobbler

That’s my dish ready to eat, steaming hot. I call it plum cobbler, because cobbler is the name for something thrown together, cobbled together, made with little care. That fits. I have a cookbook from the early 1950s in which the author recommends fruit desserts for health reasons. Nowadays she would call you bad names for eating dessert at all, but back then and for some years later it was still respectable to make and eat sweets for after dinner. Imagine that. My mother made a dessert almost every single day, and she made two or three pies every Saturday morning. As a result we had a lot of drop in company. A cup of coffee and something from my mother’s treasurehouse of desserts was always a probability, if you couldn’t stay for a meal. I’m not sure why things have changed so much, but they surely have. Anyway, here’s hot fruit cobbler, good for you, body and soul, and it takes no time at all.

Preheat the oven to 200°C or 400° F.

I put a mixing bowl on the scale and press the tare button. As you can see, I can do this in grams or ounces.

weighing the dry

In that bowl are:
260 g/9.17 oz. flour
tare
75 g/ 2.64 oz. shortening (lard here)
tare
a fistful of sugar
3 teaspoons of baking powder (I just use spoons from place settings)
1/2 teaspoon salt

Those were cut together with a fork because my food processor feed is broken. I am seriously discommoded by that, too. As you can see, they look sort of mealy.

the dough

To that I added 157.5 ml/ 2/3 cup milk and stirred it in with the fork. I tossed some flour onto the counter, scraped the dough onto it and kneaded it just a few times to be sure there were no lumps of whatever. Then I patted it out to about 5/8″ to 3/4″ thick, or about 1.5 to 2 cm.

Plums

I put some plums I froze last year into a shallow baking dish. They were frozen in a light syrup so I added no sugar. I did dust a little cinnamon over them. I cut about 29 g/1 ounce of butter in small pieces over the plums.

cinnamon sugar

I mixed up some cinnamon sugar. I didn’t measure it at all, because I am so daring and wild.

Cobbler oven ready

I cut the dough into squares and rolled the pieces in the cinnamon sugar then placed at random on top of the plums. I popped this into the hot oven for about 20 minutes and it came out like the first photo. I plan to serve it hot to the neighbors with some unwhipped and unsweetened cream.

dirty dishes

This was all the mess I made. It took me 30 seconds to scrape and wash the counter and 1 minute 50 seconds to wash, rinse and stack to dry the dishes.

You can make cobbler from any cookable fruit. I love rhubarb cobbler to distraction, and peach with blackberry is a real classic. Every fruit deserves its own treatment, however, so remember how things tasted when someone kind cooked them for you and try to copy that taste. The important thing is to occasionally spend the ten or fifteen minutes to make something hot from your own oven, something with no preservatives, no enhancers and no chemicals. Will it kill us? I don’t think so. No one eats dessert much anymore and we are less healthy than our grandparents were in general.

I probably wouldn’t serve this at a fancy dinner, or maybe I would because I think something real and homemade might be fancier than something made from frozen puff pastry and prewhipped cream. Mostly I make this kind of thing as homely, wintery weather treats for people who have just stomped into the warm kitchen from the drizzly outdoors. Like your kids? Send them over! Or make cobbler yourself, the easy way.

Twelve minutes from start to the oven, I swear.

12 thoughts on “An illustrated story about why I weigh”

    1. It’s rabarbaro and I saw it once years ago, as I also saw only that one time swedes, or rutabaga. I hear it mentioned rarely in cookery magazines, but it seems to be treated more as a health thing than real food.

      Like

  1. This is one of those vivid moments (as infrequent as they may be) that I hate you for posting these luscious treats. As you well know I don’t hate you, quite the contrary, but its just so succulent to look at. I imagine you in your little laboratory (kitchen) muddling about, measuring every little thing (like an inventive formula – your little bunsen burner, mortar and pestle, beakers, Florence flasks) all your little cups and spoons about you. You wearing your weeee bit apron. For a moment their I had a flash vision picturing you just like Sir Isaac Newton! OK! so we measure everything!
    Hugs,
    Penelope
    .-= Penelopi Tsaldari´s last blog ..Caught between a rock and a hard place. =-.

    Like

  2. G, I envy you vivid green. I love nutmeg in rhubarb, yannow? Best sundae I ever had was a meringue shell filled with homemade vanilla ice cream and topped with hot rhubarb sauce. Rhubarb really is health food, too.

    Penelope, we measure everything if we are writing a new recipe and publishing it! I was jeered at for saying a fistful of sugar and that I didn’t measure the cinnamon sugar! (I didn’t use all of it either.) However, cobbled together only needs to reflect certain ratios, yes?

    Like

  3. You could have WEIGHED that fistful fo sugar – wasn’t that the whole point? I have to say that I too am a convert to weighing, and my digital scale is one of the things I am missing right now (it’s on it’w way, via a s-l-o-w boat from Italy!)
    .-= Barbara´s last blog ..HAPPY DERBY DAY! =-.

    Like

  4. I could have, yes. But a fistul seems as valid as a spoonful. I also probably should have left the spoon and the fork to shoot with the other dirty dishes, but I am so used to rinsing and drying things like that as I go along that it never occurred to me.
    I bet it’s hot in Louisville?

    Like

  5. This reminds me of your plum cake. I think it is about the same recipe, but in that one, the plums were arranged on top of the dough. I have made rhubarb pie and cobbler this past week, and I think I will try it in this recipe today.

    Below is a link to video made in the town I taught in. It is 25 miles from my house, which is not far in rural Michigan. I hope you enjoy it.

    Like

  6. Nothing magic about that bowl, Barbles. I bought a whole nest of them in a discount store in Winchester, VA about 20 years ago. They have paid for themselves and their ticket to Italy many times over.

    Like

Leave a comment